Immich-Batterieberg

We are very excited to be working with Gernot Kollman, one of the most watched winemakers in Germany. After working at Van Volxem and then making the Knebel wines in 2008, Gernot had the opportunity (with partners) to purchase the historic estate of Immich-Batterieberg. 

The Immich family history in the Mosel dates back to the Middle Ages, when a Prince von Esch possessed the 12th-century building. Located in the center of Enkirch, the original section of the castle, Escheburg, is named after him. The Immich family would own the estate for over 500 years (1425–1989). In the mid-19th century, Carl August Immich needed more cultivable land on which to plant vines. His holdings included the Enrkirch hillside, which was less a hillside and more a steep cliff face of solid stone; using sprengbatterien (a battery of explosives filled with gunpowder) from 1841 to 1845, he reduced the site to rubble, which not only made it cultivable but also gave the vineyard its name, Batterieberg (“demolition hill”). The estate's name refers to this site.

The estate’s holdings include 1.1 hectares Batterieberg, as well as parcels in the great crus of Ellergrub, Steffensberg and Zeppwingert. The Escheberg is made from a blend of ungrafted vines from Steffensberg, Ellergrub and Batterieberg. Batterieberg is located within the larger Zeppwingert, which along with Ellergrub and Steffensberg were among the highest-ranked vineyards according to the 1897 Mosel-Weinbau-Karte, the Prussian viticultural tax map of the Mosel. The wines are all produced dry in a combination of used casks and stainless steel with full fermentations, ambient yeasts and low sulfur, and are compellingly vibrant and most definitely terroir-driven.